Pansies….:)

20121209-172810.jpg

I love flowers….have said that more than hundred times…there are flowers…then there are pansies…everytime I see them …I like them more…traditionally..it was in the shade of blue r purple…so sometimes were referred as voila too…it is believed it first grew in British isles…and then was grafted and grown into many single..bicolored…tricoloured ..pansies…there is a black pansy too…although it is actually dark purple!!
It is said that…pansy is one of those flowers…which has many nicknames…in Scotland it is called as stepmom flower,in Italy as red flame,in Hungary as orphan flower,in America as foot ball flower…no one knows why…whatever the name is..pansy is a delicate,tender,pretty,and a flower with lot of feelings…see it closely…it looks like a human face with lot of emotions….in fact the actual name pansy is from French word…pensee…means thought…as the wind blows…it looks as if it nods with deep thoughts …because of this it is a symbol of #freethought…as in were opinions…are based on logic…reason not on dogma..r..tradition…experience of freethought is freethinking & those who practice it r free thinkers…I believe I am one…so is my husband …so is my daughter…so if someone ask me which would b my family flower it has to b PANSY…
Coming from small town..never knew how a pansy is…saw it first time in lalbagh flower show in Bangalore and a myriad of colors…as a literature student…heard abut pansies in Shakespeare’s..a midsummer nights dream…where it says a potion made from pansies if applied on your eyelid…when one wakes up…he/she will dote on the first person he sees…but I remember ophelia in hamlet…when she distributes pansies to all & says..that’s pansies for your thoughts …
I read…somewhere…Margret Mitchell first chose pansy as the name of her heroine…but later changed to scarlet..
Many artists have painted pansies…but natural…as they are very vivacious…but I wish to own a print of a painting of pansies…by my favorite artist Van Gogh :)))
Some believe that bringing in a few pansies into home brings in good luck…I haven’t tried…as I have never seen pansies in a flower shop here…
In France…a bride gets a bouquet of pansies & marigold…which represents..thoughts & caring ..two important aspects of wedded life….
Some day I wish to grow pansies…even if it is just in few pots…would like to smell their delicate fragrance…and I wish to get lost in my own thoughts…along with these thoughtful flowers…:))
Just before I end..want to mention an young friend of mine…vikas Gowda..he lives in London …some time back he tweeted a pansy..I think it was yellow..and the caption was an angry flower….!!!! I was so taken aback…pansy & angry…??? Almost always the adjectives used for pansy was..tender,pretty,gentle.thought ful…but no one had said angry..!!..well..but vikas does think differently..and I realised..all of us opine in many ways…even if it is a flower!..so thanks to vikas…when I see a pansy…I just don’t look for a happy r thoughtful face..I see if there is any anger…
This pic..I took it in Switzerland …a very calm looking pansy…
Yeah..another thing…pansy surprisingly comes up in a man’s dictionary too…have u ever heard some one telling a man don’t act like a pansy…that means..don’t b a sissy…!!!
For me…it is just a soothing …pretty… Pansy..!!!

3 thoughts on “Pansies….:)

  1. Lovely Study. Went through it twice. You do have a researcher’s mind. Impressed with all the explanations. Quality observations. Keep ’em Coming V

Leave a Reply

