Common tailor bird

I am surprised…that there are so many birds around our home…all sort of calls…sweet…loud…noisy..

But the trees …all have thick foliage…green & dense because of the monsoons…& the birds are so tiny…& since it is cloudy…difficult to get a perfect picture…

Anyways…today..I found a tailor bird…all these days…for past 8 days…I had heard its loud call…but I never sighted it…this afternoon I did…it is so cute…at first a little wary of me…but then …it presented itself quite well…few pics..on a cloudy day

Little shy at first…

 

Then came onto this bark

 

Long upright tail…greenish upper part…rust coloured head…a song bird

 

They get their name…from the way they build their nest…they actually sew a big leaf's edges…with plant fibre r spider silk!

 

This isn't that clear…but it was trying to eat the bug…there…!

I had heard about tailor bird …in rudyard kipling's jungle book…& the birds name was darzi…as in Hindi …it does mean tailor…I have forgotten it…but will read again

But…never had I thought…I would see a tailor bird…in this concrete jungle…thank god for all these beautiful big…old trees..!

 

Leave a Reply

